The fourth annual NOFLASH Video Show will be postponed until fall 2020. Rescheduling for late spring or early summer is not plausible due to the uncertainty of when events of this scale will be allowed to happen again due to COVID-19.

To provide some context: I am the sole organizer and curator of NOFLASH. My university provides venue space and financial support, and my friends volunteer as event staff. Otherwise, I have led the third- and fourth-annual editions independently (and loved every minute!). For this reason, NOFLASH is inextricably tied up with my personal life timeline. My university has cancelled all in-person events and classes through May, and other potential backup venues in the NYC/NJ area have taken similar actions.

I will be graduating in May, and it is unclear for a variety of reasons whether I will be able to organize NOFLASH at a local venue before I start at the University of Oxford’s Ruskin MFA program in October. Right now, the strongest option seems to be to wait until October/November to host NOFLASH 2020 in Oxford, United Kingdom, though I will be keeping my options open for late summer.

This year’s program is full of incredible work and I want to maximize its audience. Trust that I will continue to give this serious consideration and that every effort will be made for NOFLASH to happen this year, assuming the pandemic is under control. Please take the relevant COVID-19 precautions for your country while also trying to find some sort of silver lining in this challenging time.

Be well,
Charles de Agustin
Director & Curator
NOFLASH Video Show

Previously planned NOFLASH 2020 blurb and flyer below.

Based in New Brunswick, New Jersey, the fourth annual NOFLASH Video Show is April 2-5, 2020. Dedicated to showcasing ambitious work by emerging filmmakers and time-based artists, NOFLASH 2020 will feature 50+ works from 17 countries across six screening programs and two exhibitions. Reserve your free tickets and learn more at NOFLASHvideo.org. Sponsored by the Zimmerli Art Museum at Rutgers University, Rutgers Filmmaking Center and Mason Gross Student Governing Association.